It is currently Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:32 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post subject: Tele Modern Player Plus pickup replacement?
Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 10:37 am
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Hello everyone.
I've been playing guitars for many years but have never really gotten into replacing pickups and related hardware. I have been doing a little experimentation on a Tele clone, but when I saw the MP Plus I ran right down to my local Guitar Center to play one. Of course, they didn't have one. So I waited. And waited. When they finally came in I was out of town, and then got busy so I didn't get one until Black Friday.

I love this guitar! The fit and finish are outstanding.
The pups aren't bad but I am thinking of replacing them with Fender Noiseless Tele in the neck, Fender Noiseless Strat in the middle and a Seymour Duncan SH-11 in the bridge.
I play mostly old country, some blues, and some old rock.
Do you think I will notice much difference in the tone, and do you think this is a decent selection of pickups for the guitar?

Thanks in advance!
Mayor

Fender Play April 2019
Post subject: Re: Tele Modern Player Plus pickup replacement?
Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 6:44 am
Rock Star
Rock Star

Hooterville Mayor wrote:
Hello everyone.
I've been playing guitars for many years but have never really gotten into replacing pickups and related hardware. I have been doing a little experimentation on a Tele clone, but when I saw the MP Plus I ran right down to my local Guitar Center to play one. Of course, they didn't have one. So I waited. And waited. When they finally came in I was out of town, and then got busy so I didn't get one until Black Friday.

I love this guitar! The fit and finish are outstanding.
The pups aren't bad but I am thinking of replacing them with Fender Noiseless Tele in the neck, Fender Noiseless Strat in the middle and a Seymour Duncan SH-11 in the bridge.
I play mostly old country, some blues, and some old rock.