It is currently Fri Dec 13, 2019 10:07 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post subject: Custom Shop 51 Nocaster pickup upgrade
Posted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:22 pm
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

I'm new to the Fender website and Fender products. I'm upgrading an Agile TC 625 Tele with a set of Custom Shop 51 Nocaster pickups. I'm looking for suggestions as to any other parts I might need to address, i.e., what tone capacitor value works best, should I also look at replacing the pots and switch, is a treble bleed recommended on a Telecaster.
Up until now I've only played LP style humbuckers and decided I'd like to try a different sound. A Tele seemed the obvious choice.

Fender Cyber Monday 2019
Post subject: Re: Custom Shop 51 Nocaster pickup upgrade
Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 1:37 am
Rock Star
Rock Star

First, you're investing about 200 (monetary units) to a pickup upgrade on an about 300 (monetary units) guitar - to me, doesn't make much sense.
For the total 500 (monetary units), you'd probably find a nice preowned MIJ/MIK/MIM (even MIA, depending on your location) Fender with typical Tele sound and ready for playing.

But if you're determined, and since I'm all for modding, :wink: why not start with the "original" '51 Nocaster wiring: Image

And yes, I'd suggest upgrading all electronics while at it. CTS or Bourne pots, CRL switch etc.

Posted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 12:05 pm
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Thanks, I really appreciate the response and information. I think I'd like to have the vintage twang, but, I'd also prefer the modern 3-way switch setup of neck, neck and bridge, bridge. I read a very good article on Leo's early wiring and it said that one of the earliest mods players made was to reconfigure the pickup wiring.
What you say regarding spending money on cheap guitars may well be true if the goal is to make it sound like a MIM, or MIJ. But plenty of people who have those guitars buy hand wound, custom made pickups, I'm assuming, to make them sound better.