It is currently Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Go to page 1, 2  Next
Post subject: Modding my Mod Shop Strat like a crazy person
Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 5:07 pm
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

I've been playing acoustic guitar for 12+ years but never got into electric. I recently decided to build a Strat through Fender's Mod Shop.

I love the feel of this guitar but I also love modding it to find a unique yet classic sound. This is why the V-Mod pickups seemed like the right choice. I chose the HSS Strat with a Shawbucker in the bridge for versatility. While it sounds good, I'm looking for more. Something that'll 'click' with me. Also, I'm a tech nerd and love to tinker.

So far I've swapped the pickguard for a Fender 3-Ply Mint.

Tonight, I'll be swapping the Shawbucker for the Seymour Duncan Phat Cat (P90).

Next week, when everything arrives, I'll be:
-Blocking the trem.
-Swapping the V-Mod Neck pickup for a Custom Shop 69 (leaving the reverse wound V-Mod in the middle).

I just want to share the journey a bit and see if anyone had any advice along the way since this is my first mod. I know some reasonable advice might be, leave it alone or adjust the pickup heights. I have adjusted the heights and I'm not really interested in leaving it alone lol.

I'll post more pictures along the way!

https://i.imgur.com/9aqFoiq.png
https://i.imgur.com/Qt9I5VX.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/Cf4OjPA.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/fUdkJ2B.jpg

Thanks,

ScroogeMcDucc

Fender Play Winter Sale 2020
Post subject: Re: Modding my Mod Shop Strat like a crazy person
Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:31 pm
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Update: I blocked the tremolo with little blocks of maple of Guilford Guitars.

I swapped the neck V-Mod for the Custom Shop 69 (first time soldering was a success! Phew.) The tone is awesome, what a difference from the V-Mod. Not better, but different. Less output for sure, more even across the strings.