It is currently Mon Nov 18, 2019 9:58 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 5:00 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:31 am
Posts: 13554
Location: Province de Québec, Canada
StarcasterMax wrote:

I wouldn't trust myself to be able to do the tests sferic64 suggests, anyway

I agree with you

I've tested the Standby switch as suggested
Sprayed CC in it
For the sake of it I've also tested external 220/115V power transformer that feeds the amp
All of the above with no success

Forgive what it sure is a dumb question: what does follow both volume pots in the signal path that
can cause the signal to shut at the raising of the volume past 8?
You're allowed to laugh, thou



Cheers


To resume;

You put jumper on stanby switch contacts.
You plug the amp cable in the wall outlet ( 220 volt)
You put amp power ON
You plug guitar and you try to play .

Amp did not work ! right ?

Standby switch look good.

Other tests are waiste of time.

You must see a amp tech


Top
Profile
Fender Play November 2019
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 7:07 am
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 1621
Location: Coastal Bend, Tx.
StarcasterMax,
Sorry if my explanation was to complicated. I did assume you had some experience with your voltmeter(the red&black leads I was referring to).
This testing is how to determine if the PT power transformer, rectifier, standby switch & OT output transformer are properly supplied w/ voltage. Additionally, the heater voltage should also be checked.

Did you use your voltmeter to check anything inside the chassis of your amplifier?
Do you want to try and find/fix the problem yourself?
I understand if you dont want to do the work yourself, but if this is the case you should probably just find a tech in your area that can do whatever work is required.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:10 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:31 am
Posts: 13554
Location: Province de Québec, Canada
sfceric64,
I understand StarcasterMax did not know how to use safely a voltmeter when he wrote;

" I wouldn't trust myself to be able to do the tests sferic64 suggests, anyway"

.
These voltage are lethal


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:24 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:48 am
Posts: 26157
Location: Tombstone Territory
stratele52 wrote:
To resume;

You put jumper on stanby switch contacts.
You plug the amp cable in the wall outlet ( 220 volt)
You put amp power ON
You plug guitar and you try to play .

Amp did not work ! right ?

Standby switch look good.

Other tests are waiste of time.

You must see a amp tech


+1

Further jerking off is pointless -- take the amp to a qualified tech.

Arjay

_________________
"Here's why reliability is job one: A great sounding amp that breaks down goes from being a favorite piece of gear to a useless piece of crap in less time than it takes to read this sentence." -- BRUCE ZINKY


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:38 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:31 am
Posts: 13554
Location: Province de Québec, Canada
Retroverbial wrote:


Further jerking off is pointless -- take the amp to a qualified tech.

Arjay



+1000


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:54 am
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:51 am
Posts: 14
sfceric64 wrote:
StarcasterMax,
Sorry if my explanation was to complicated. I did assume you had some experience with your voltmeter(the red&black leads I was referring to).
This testing is how to determine if the PT power transformer, rectifier, standby switch & OT output transformer are properly supplied w/ voltage. Additionally, the heater voltage should also be checked.
Sfceric, is not that your explanation is complicated, it's just that Can't trust myself with this level of testing
I (assume) I know how to use a voltmeter, but I never used it inside of an amp and, beside the risk for my health, I don't wanna risk to cause any further damage to the amp



Did you use your voltmeter to check anything inside the chassis of your amplifier?
Do you want to try and find/fix the problem yourself?
As I said from the beginning, I not looking to fix the amp myself, unlees it turned out to be a bad tube to replace or something else that easy, I asked help here only to work out the sort of problem I could expect diagnosed when Il entrust my amp to a tech I never seen before.
I understand if you dont want to do the work yourself, but if this is the case you should probably just find a tech in your area that can do whatever work is required.


vinyl wrote:
StarcasterMax wrote:
Do I take it that you all think this can't be a major issue, like damaged P/T and or O/T or even the little thing in the middle I guess you call Choke?
Cheers

Yes, that is my presumption. I do not think that transformers or chokes go bad normally from non-use, but switch contacts can develop corrosion, causing a high impedance situation.
I admit I could be completely wrong, but I have to go with what is the most likely to have happened while the amp sat unused for a period of years.
What I do not know is how many years. Thanks to the pictures that you posted of the caps in the main power supply have date codes from 2015, or maybe 2005.
Yes, Bill, the amp has been serviced around 2015, so it didn't stay unplayed for longer than 3 years
I do not claim to have "physic powers" or even "intuition". I just go with whatever is probable.
Cheers,
Bill


Well, seems like I will have to see what the tech has to say
Anyway, having gotten to know that the issue has most likely nothing to do with the O/T, P/T and Choke (can I rely on that?) is for me a great relief
Thanks you all for your time and good will to help
If no one has anything to add I'd say so long to all and move on to next step
With gratitude
Max


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 10:00 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:31 am
Posts: 13554
Location: Province de Québec, Canada
Good luck Max and come back to report.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2019 5:27 pm
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 1621
Location: Coastal Bend, Tx.
Quote:
Good luck Max and come back to report.
+1

Edit: added
Quote:
Anyway, having gotten to know that the issue has most likely nothing to do with the O/T, P/T and Choke (can I rely on that?) is for me a great relief

IMO NO, you may have a problem w/ any or all of these. 1st off, your using a converter to alter the supplied AC to the amplifier and if there is an issue w/ that device it will "fry" any thing in its path usually within a few seconds. The fuse should probably blow, BUT... I've destroyed a few pieces of stereo equipment and more than a couple coffee pots in my day.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:40 am
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:51 am
Posts: 14
sfceric64 wrote:
Quote:
Good luck Max and come back to report.
+1

Edit: added
Quote:
Anyway, having gotten to know that the issue has most likely nothing to do with the O/T, P/T and Choke (can I rely on that?) is for me a great relief

IMO NO, you may have a problem w/ any or all of these. 1st off, your using a converter to alter the supplied AC to the amplifier and if there is an issue w/ that device it will "fry" any thing in its path usually within a few seconds. The fuse should probably blow, BUT... I've destroyed a few pieces of stereo equipment and more than a couple coffee pots in my day.

Yeah, great! Thanks for destroying my last hope! :lol: :lol: :lol:
Only kidding, hopefully my 220/115V power transformer is fine, it's a made-to-order professsional unit as used for medical equipment
Fingers crossed :wink:
Cheers


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 10:08 am
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:48 am
Posts: 26157
Location: Tombstone Territory
If your Champ 12 hasn't blown up and you're using that step-down tranny to power it, it's likely not an issue.

Arjay

_________________
"Here's why reliability is job one: A great sounding amp that breaks down goes from being a favorite piece of gear to a useless piece of crap in less time than it takes to read this sentence." -- BRUCE ZINKY


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 7:14 pm
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 1621
Location: Coastal Bend, Tx.
I agree w/ Arjay and yourself about the step down/converter tranny being ok if your champ12 is working w/ it.
But that doesn't mean squat if say your rectifier tube is bad or your PT isn't producing a good balanced output or your OT isn't supplying plate voltage to your output tubes or your output tube bias voltage is bad.
Yeah, great! Thanks for destroying my last hope!:lol::lol::lol: SO sorry, just dont like feel good answers w/o a dose
of reality.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 8:44 pm
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:48 am
Posts: 26157
Location: Tombstone Territory
I still think it's something relatively simple (and inexpensive).

Arjay

_________________
"Here's why reliability is job one: A great sounding amp that breaks down goes from being a favorite piece of gear to a useless piece of crap in less time than it takes to read this sentence." -- BRUCE ZINKY


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Did I kill my Tremolux?
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:05 pm
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:31 am
Posts: 13554
Location: Province de Québec, Canada
Retroverbial wrote:
I still think it's something relatively simple (and inexpensive).

Arjay


I agree, it is a "easy" fix for a tech.


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Fender Play November 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: