It is currently Sat Nov 16, 2019 10:00 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Author Message
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 7:24 am
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:54 pm
Posts: 507
A 52 year old amp. That's long enough for at least 2 cap jobs.

Dumb question here. Is the footswitch original to the amp? Have you ohmed it out?


Top
Profile
Fender Play November 2019
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 11:21 am
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
Great question re: the foot switch...I have checked it with multimeter and with my Super Reverb...the switch operates properly.

I will research this from Vinyl ..."I'm not seeing the dual 25/25 electrolytic used for V3's cathode bypass cap."

Thanks,

RB3988


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2019 12:20 pm
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:54 pm
Posts: 507
royb3988 wrote:
Great question re: the foot switch...I have checked it with multimeter and with my Super Reverb...the switch operates properly.

I will research this from Vinyl ..."I'm not seeing the dual 25/25 electrolytic used for V3's cathode bypass cap."

Thanks,

RB3988


Actually, that was Retroverbial's question.

So now we know that the footswitch is ok.

vinyl wrote:

Have the electrolytic caps ever been replaced? Were all them replaced? Or just the filter caps?
vinyl

Maybe I should just change my name from "vinyl" to "curmudgeon" :lol:
When was the last time all of the electrolytic caps were replaced?

Perhaps some pictures from inside the amp would reveal something.

Cheers,


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:39 pm
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:54 pm
Posts: 507
royb3988 wrote:
..."I'm not seeing the dual 25/25 electrolytic used for V3's cathode bypass cap."

Thanks,

RB3988


Here's a hint: some look like this:
Image

And some look like this:
Image


Since we're back to psychic troubleshooting, I'm out. :roll:


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:46 pm
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
I have some gut shots...I'll post them as soon as I am granted posting permissions.

Thanks,

RB3988


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:24 am
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:28 pm
Posts: 1533
Location: SoCal, US
royb3988 wrote:
I have some gut shots...I'll post them as soon as I am granted posting permissions.

Thanks,

RB3988

???? The forum does not allow upload attachments. You have to upload them to a 3rd party hosting site like Imgur (please not Photobucket, their watermark often obscures important parts of the image) and attach the image using the forum's IMG command.

None of us have "posting" permissions, even the moderators.

_________________
-- Rich


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:02 am
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:54 pm
Posts: 507
How to post pics, compliments of jmattis:
jmattis wrote:
This question is asked so often I started to quote myself instead of writing it
again and
again and
again and...
(Wink wink to the administrators...)

Quote:
First you need to upload your pics to the internet. Use a pic hosting site (imgur, imgbb or such - avoid photobucket) or some common web framework like e.g. facebook, googlephotos - whatever you're familiar with.
The important thing is that the web site provides you with a pic address - that's the one starting with 'http' and ending in '.jpg'.

Copy the pic address, and use the IMG-command (visible when you write a message) on the forum.

Preview your post so everything is OK.



So it looks like this:
(img)https://i.ibb.co/0MP320n/showman.jpg(/img) The picture address between the IMG tags, except the parentheses will be square brackets.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:27 am
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
I have the photos uploaded...however when I insert the address between the "img" tags the pics will not load, all that shows up is a small icon for "img"...I'll figure this out after lunch and get the pictures up and running.

Thanks for the tutorial.

RB3988


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:31 am
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 2:54 pm
Posts: 507
royb3988 wrote:
I have the photos uploaded...however when I insert the address between the "img" tags the pics will not load, all that shows up is a small icon for "img"...I'll figure this out after lunch and get the pictures up and running.

Thanks for the tutorial.

RB3988


Most likely you need to designate the pictures "public", "shareable", etc. Not "private".


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 5:04 pm
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
imgur.com and bb.com...this is what I get:


Image

Update: after taking the photos and putting the power tubes back in, when I step on the Tremolo pedal, you can hear the pulsing through the speakers...even a very faint clicking noise...and the Tremolo kicks in after about 20 seconds.




I think "they're out to get me..."

Royb3988.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:54 pm
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:28 pm
Posts: 1533
Location: SoCal, US
royb3988 wrote:
imgur.com and bb.com...this is what I get:


{img}https://imgur.com/gallery/XWPoKkS{/img}

You can't load the entire gallery like that. The text between the IMG tags must begin with http and end with .jpg or .gif
Go into each individual image and copy/paste the BBCODE:

{img}https://i.imgur.com/hnRnOeU.jpg{/img}

Image

_________________
-- Rich


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 6:59 pm
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 10:28 pm
Posts: 1533
Location: SoCal, US
Some of your caps look to have been replaced recently, some replaced some time ago, and some original...

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

_________________
-- Rich


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:05 pm
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
Power tubes L to R from back of amp: 33mA, 35mA, 29mA, 30mA.


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 5:04 am
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:56 am
Posts: 1620
Location: Coastal Bend, Tx.
If those caps are all same date code, looks like 2011. If you replace them, increase the VDC from 16 to either 25 or 50.
The bias doesn't look bad as far as quads go.
Can you verify that the roach is grounded, if you have a copy of the layout it shows as a dashed line from the front right connection (looking at it from the front of the amp) an easy test is to install a jumper wire from there to ground. At minimum- reflow the solder joint on the ground leg of the roach, I zoomed the photo- it doesn't look like a good solder to my old eyes.
Image


Top
Profile
Post subject: Re: Fender 1967 DUAL (in block letters) Showman
Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:13 am
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 1:32 pm
Posts: 59
sfceric64...

Thanks for the info and suggestions. Regarding increasing the caps from 16 to 25 or 50...to which caps are you referring? I may get an estimate to have ALL caps replaced if necessary. If that amp didn't sound so good I would probably not even mess with it...

I'll check the Roach connections and re-solder as needed.

From another forum on a Deluxe Reverb with the same Tremolo problem, would this apply to my DS?

"I have finally fixed this issue! All of the resistors tested in spec when the amp was off. So, I decided to test them all again when the amp was on. The 1 M Ohm resistor coming off the grid of the trem tube was reading in the 1.9 M Ohm range when the amp heated up. I replaced this resistor and we're all good.
Just to make sure, I didn't play the amp for two days, I started it up, hit the trem and bam--less than one second later I'm in John Fogerty land!"




RB3988


Top
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 134 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Fender Play November 2019

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: