It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Rookie - How to use Chromatic Tuner - FT-100
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:42 pm 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Rookie with new Fender acoustic from Sam's club. I have my guitar in some degree of tune. Have no clue as to how to use the included Chromatic Tuner. Any suggestions? Location of better instructions on line? Are the letters, etc. that come up in the display "notes" or "strings"? I have a long way to go learning music. I know a number of chords, but lack technique to use the chords. I did have a nice Gibson J-45 guitar when I was in high school. Wish I had it now. Thanks in advance, WolfpackRon.

Last edited by Wolfpackron on Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:11 pm 
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

For some reason, those directions are hard to find, but I would just find instructions for a different chromatic tuner as they all sort of work on the same priciples...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:24 pm 
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Standard guitar tuning is E A D G B E. People use variations and alternate tunings but thats the standard. When I was first starting off on guitar someone told me to remember "Elephants And Donkeys Got Big Ears." That's EADGBE so just remember that. The first E is the first string on the guitar, the first one you see when your holding the guitar and you look down.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:40 pm 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Thanks Bowlfreshener,
I Goggled "chromatic tuner instructions" and found "universal" instructions. According to these instructions, you just start playing a string, any string and the tuner will recognize the string and the lights indicate whether it is flat or sharp or in tune. I just used it and it is pretty slick. Not perfect, but probably better than a rookie. Neat machine. Thanks again, WolfpackRon.

Post subject: