It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 1:28 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Channel-bound??
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 7:15 pm 
Rock Star
Rock Star

Has anyone seen or tried the new Am.Select Strat with the new channel-bound rosewood fingerboard?

Has that type of construction ever been done before (by any manufacturer)?
I don't recall ever seeing anything like it before.

Member #26797
My other guitar is a Strat.

Post subject: Re: Channel-bound??
PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:08 pm 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

looks pretty cool, never seen it before, seems that the woods might change over time and you might have a lip where the 2 meet but I'm no professional, but I am more traditional, so I'd stick with binding lol

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:11 pm 
Rock Star
Rock Star

My search here didn't find this, but Google pointed me to this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85068

I'm glad Ceri got a look at it.

The "reverse" guitar KWS is playing is very cool too!

Member #26797

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:48 am 
Rock Icon
Rock Icon

orvilleowner wrote:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=85068

I'm glad Ceri got a look at it.

Haha - yeah, that thread kinda got my fingerprints onto it. :)

I do think this construction method looks gorgeous and I'm itching to get my hands on one for a tryout. Just as soon as they do it on a Strat with a small headstock, that is. I'm already a big admirer of the Fender Select models: this could just persuade me to break a long standing prejudice and buy a Strat with rosewood fingerboard (shock).

To the best of my knowledge nobody has done fingerboards this way before: I think it is probably a Fender innovation. Though handbuilder Taku Sakashta sometimes rebates the fronts into his hollowbodies in a similar way - I wonder if this is partly where they got the idea for doing it on necks?

Cheers - C

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:10 am 
Rock Star
Rock Star

I wonder how well (and for how long) they've tested this.