It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 12:52 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: regardin pick up replacement for blacktop strat ideas please
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 1:21 pm 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Hi ppl, I have a blacktop HH strat (rosewood) guitar. And it has;
Hot Vintage AlNiCo Humbucking Pickup (Bridge)
Hot Vintage AlNiCo Humbucking Pickup (Neck)

I was wondering If, changing pick-ups to Seymour Duncan Vintage Blues Humbucker Pickup Set would truely make a difference, would it be a big upgrade or should I get something better:
http://www.americanmusical.com/Item--i- ... BLUES-LIST

I am a professional pop-rock singer in my country. However I am really into blues style. I practice and learn regularly to take it to a professional level. why Im telling you this is to let you know that it wont be only for home use. in several months, I will be jammin giggin blues in public. sorry for my sloppy english btw :)
cheerz everyone :))

Post subject: Re: regardin pick up replacement for blacktop strat ideas pl
PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:00 pm 
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

I havent listened to them, the Duncan Vintage i mean, but I think the Duncan '59 is an overlooked pickup. Its affordable, and I think a great sounding pickup. People usually get them with a JB in the bridge, but I had put 2 Duncan 59's into a PRS Single cut SE i picked up cheap, and I liked them. It was the first humbucker guitar i had in a while. People kind of pass them up because its marketed as a PAF style pickup, and besides output, it really isnt. It has alnico V magnets, so it has a more aggresive attack than a PAF, and tends to be a bit more articulate and cutting.