It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:13 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 135 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9  Next
 Post subject: How to spot a fake...
PostPosted: Sun Mar 07, 2010 12:20 pm 
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Hey Ya'll,
In light of a few other threads that I've commented on in regards to "fake Strats", I decided to take a few minutes this fine morning and put together a little "tutorial" for those who have a bit less experience with Strat who may be considering buying a new or used guitar.

Before I get started here, please let me make this perfectly clear...these are only my own personal opinions and should only be taken as such. Further, these comments are -NOT- aimed at any one specific individual. I have been playing for close to 30 years now, I work on my own guitars (which is currently around 25 total give or take projects) and I've built a number both from parts and even a couple of bodies that I've cut from scratch...in other words, I do feel I know a little bit about guitars in general and I'm simply trying to share a little information here.

So, let's get started...

CHAPTER 1 - Don't Let Yourself Get Taken For a Ride

First and foremost, let me say that the time to ask whether a guitar (any) guitar is "a fake" is before you buy it! If you are not completely, 100% sure about what it is that you are buying, ask questions BEFORE you buy! These seems to be something of a rash going on around these forums...seems like once or twice a month someone posts a thread that starts with "Is this a fake Strat" and often the thread goes something like this;

" I just bought a new (used) Strat off Ebay (Craigslist, Guitar Show, best friend, etc) and I was wondering if it's a "real" Strat..."