It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 2:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: S-1 Switch
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 12:59 pm 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 6:28 am
Posts: 3
Location: Minden,La.
Help Please, I am wanting to replace the stock knobs on my AM. DLX H.S.S. STRAT. w/ custom knobs however I don't want to lose the s-1 switching options. Can I PUT IN A PUSH-PULL TONE CONT. and somehow connect to S-1 Inards? Has anyone tried this or other options? Please reply! :? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 3:53 pm 
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 1811
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
I spoke to a tech about the S-1 switching. He told me that the wiring inside was pretty hairy and different than the normal switchings. He suggested taking it to a tech, for any work I might want to do.

_________________
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them."-John Wayne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:50 pm
Posts: 17
Since you´re talking about the s-1 switch, do you guys know if I can buy it to install on my guitar ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:27 pm 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:59 am
Posts: 406
Gustavo Mesquita wrote:
Since you´re talking about the s-1 switch, do you guys know if I can buy it to install on my guitar ?


Why not?....sure you can.I installed the S-1 switch in my strat...the pick-ups i used are SCN's for the neck and middle as for the bridge i used Tone Zone S.

As for the thread starter i dont think swapping the push-pull knob would be ideal if you want to get the same pickup configurations as the S-1.The S-1 switch is fairly complex compared to the push-pull....look at the picture i provided below when i installed in for my strat.I hope it helps....i'm no expert and i could be wrong too. :D

Image

_________________
My Guitars :: My Rig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:22 am 
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 1811
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Gustavo Mesquita wrote:
Since you´re talking about the s-1 switch, do you guys know if I can buy it to install on my guitar ?


Fender refuses to sell S-1 switches.

_________________
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them."-John Wayne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:24 am 
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 1811
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
belphedeus wrote:
Gustavo Mesquita wrote:
Since you´re talking about the s-1 switch, do you guys know if I can buy it to install on my guitar ?


Why not?....sure you can.I installed the S-1 switch in my strat...the pick-ups i used are SCN's for the neck and middle as for the bridge i used Tone Zone S.

As for the thread starter i dont think swapping the push-pull knob would be ideal if you want to get the same pickup configurations as the S-1.The S-1 switch is fairly complex compared to the push-pull....look at the picture i provided below when i installed in for my strat.I hope it helps....i'm no expert and i could be wrong too. :D

Image


Ok......I didn't know they sold the S-1 switch. In the past when people tried to get them......Fender refused to see them. I always thought you had to have any repairs concerning the S-1 switch done by an Authorized dealer, so that he could order the switch from Fender.

_________________
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them."-John Wayne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:26 am 
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 1811
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
That last thing I posted. I meant to say Fender refused to seel them in the past, when people tried to order them.

_________________
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them."-John Wayne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:26 am 
Offline
Professional Musician
Professional Musician
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 1811
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
I meant "sell". Geez.....I can't type this morning, I'm still waking up.

_________________
"I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people, and I require the same from them."-John Wayne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:28 am 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:59 am
Posts: 406
Syeklops wrote:
Ok......I didn't know they sold the S-1 switch. In the past when people tried to get them......Fender refused to see them. I always thought you had to have any repairs concerning the S-1 switch done by an Authorized dealer, so that he could order the switch from Fender.


Hi Syeklops...you're right that you got to get them from the authorized dealers but i got mine from bonafide sellers in eBay....its brand new taken out from an Am Dlx strat....

_________________
My Guitars :: My Rig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:33 am 
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:57 am
Posts: 13163
Location: Peckham: where the snow leopards roam
Though I think what loneblueswolf (the OP) is asking is whether he can put a custom knob on top of the pot that has the S1 gizmo underneath.

The answer is - I dunno. I have the S1 on a Strat, but I've never tried (dared) to pull the knob off to see what lies beneath - for fear of damaging it in some way I then can't repair.

loneblueswolf, you'll just have to try it and tell us what you find. Maybe it's a regular push-push pot shaft (not push-pull) within which case it'll work. Or maybe not.

In case I've misunderstood and you are actually asking whether the S1 can be replaced with a push-pull pot and achieve the same pickup configurations: no you can't. That's why Fender use that fiendish little PCB, cos it's the only route to that setup.

I took one look at that thing and quickly screwed my pickguard back on the guitar. Too scary to mess with!

Cheers - C


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:43 am 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:59 am
Posts: 406
Ceri wrote:
I took one look at that thing and quickly screwed my pickguard back on the guitar. Too scary to mess with!


LOL!!!

Anyway guys here is what the S-1 switch looks like....the knobs and the pot itself...

Image

Image

Sorry i dont have a closer picture of the S-1....

_________________
My Guitars :: My Rig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:46 am 
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:57 am
Posts: 13163
Location: Peckham: where the snow leopards roam
belphedeus wrote:
Anyway guys here is what the S-1 switch looks like....the knobs and the pot itself...


Excellent - well you're a braver man than me!

Now tell us, does that knurled shaft just work as a regular push-push mechanism on the pot? Within which case the OP can stick any knob on there that fits that size of shaft, right?

...Hmm, or does the shaft look rather short? Does it have to be the special Fender knob to work?

Cheers - C


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:57 am 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 3:59 am
Posts: 406
Ceri wrote:
...Hmm, or does the shaft look rather short? Does it have to be the special Fender knob to work?


Good guess Ceri....well i guess we all know Fender....it has to be the Fender S-1 knob as the shaft for the pot is rather deep inside for any push pull i've seen so far to reach in and activate it...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: S-1 Switch
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 6:28 am
Posts: 3
Location: Minden,La.
HEY Fellow Stratsmen; Thanks for all the feedback! let me clarify. My hope was to be able to leave the S-1 inside the pickguard put a push-push vol. Or better yet Tone pot.(would''nt get in the way of the trem. bar) in and hopefully find contact points on the S-1 SINCE IT HAS SIMPLY AN UP-DOWN pos. that could tie to the up-down pos. of the new pot. Maybe this is'nt possible because of the complexity of the switch. But hey I knoww with 2 push-push tone pots I could at least get my bridge H.B to single & get the other 2 -4 combinations bridge-neck & all 3 pups AND GET RID OF THE PLASTIC KNOBS!! Sorry I just hate 'em!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 10:29 am 
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:57 am
Posts: 13163
Location: Peckham: where the snow leopards roam
Hi loneblueswolf: the answer to your question lies in the posts above.

The S1 switch is not just about splitting the humbucker: it provides various options of series and parallel pickup connection, and on some models it also offers a "special capacitor" for additional tone options.

You ain't going to achieve all of that in any other way - at least not without a mountain of wiring and switches.

If you like what the S1 does then you gotta keep it, and from what belphedeus says you can't put another knob on there. If you want different knobs then you are going to lose the S1, by the look of it...

Sorry 'bout that...

Cheers - C


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fdaunay and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group