It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 11:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Decisions, Decisions!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:34 pm 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

I'm new to this board but not new to Fender or Guitar playing. I have been playing off and on for over 30 years. Started trying to learn on my uncle's old Yamaha 6 string acoustic when I was 10.

I have never played out. I've never recorded. It's something I do for fun and relaxation. Although, I'm seriously thinking about asking to join the Church praise group.

I have owned everything from Jacksons, Charvels, LP Custom (junk) and Strats. I have owned a few Fender tube amps from the 60's - 70's, back when no one like them. I have also owned a Peavey Vypyr 75 (crashed all the time), Ampegs, Rolands and now have a VHT Special 6 Ultra.

I recently sold my only guitar, a Gretsch Corvette and I'm going to reinvest $600. I layed away a Squire VM Thinline Tele. Never owned a tele but this a thing of beauty to play and the tone was great! I got the tele for $225 after rebate.

The local dealer has a(no rebates included) Mustang III for $299, Mustang IV for $450, G-Dec3 15 for $200, Marshall Class 5 for $399 and just took delivery of a pair of Jaguar Modern Players for $399.

I'm like a kid in a candy store! I really like the Mustang III & IV but I'm afraid that they will have the same issues as the Peavey Vypyr 75 had. Solid State and kept crashing, popping etc. Plus after a while, all the SS modeling starts to sound the same. I like the G-DEC's backing tracks and looper. That's a lot of fun. But, Fender stopped making G-DECs. It's only a matter of time before all support ends on them.

The Class 5 is a nice little amp but I already have a nice tube amp.