It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 9:21 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Mustang Amps vs. Tube Amps vs. VG-99
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:29 am 
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

I have an Egnater 2X12 cab ready to load and was looking at getting a new 2 channel Egnater Tweaker 40 to throw on top down the road. However, I've debated on selling the cab and just going all modeling vs. save up and wait to load it with some Scumback speakers and get a few cool pedals like the Eventide TimeFactor etc.

Since I'm new to amps (all I've used is modeling with my VG-99) I was wondering for "those in the know" what you thought about a great tube amp vs. the Mustangs. Do you notice an audible difference between tube & modeling or is it more of the "Feel" factor?

I also thought about keeping the cab... throw in some Scumbacks... getting the Mustang V head... and then later get the Tweaker 40 (choices eh?) :lol:

Thanks!

SEA

Post subject: Re: Mustang Amps vs. Tube Amps vs. VG-99
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:28 am 
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

Please do check this post on the Mustang V heads, dual output (stereo) channel speaker requirements
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=54868

Connecting a single output channel cab to it, like the Egnater would require is not recommended.

It would be possible to wire the cab with 2 x 8ohm speakers, each with its own input jack for the Mustang.
Then rewire it into a 4ohm single channel cab for the Egnater when you get it.

You may get a lot of one sided responses to this question there are many zelots who only believe one type of amp is the correct one to use :)
I use tube (guitar), solid-state (bass) and modeling (fun!) amps, all have their place.and uses.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:33 am 
Amateur
Amateur

Given the choice, I'd take a good tube amp over the Mustang. Obviously, it's all personal preference, but that's mine.