It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:21 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:22 am 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 7
Will swapping out the stock 6v6 tubes in my Excelsior with GT 6l6 tubes damage my amp in any way?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 8537
Location: Centreville, Virginia
I don't know if the Excelsior is fixed or cathode biased. In either case, a 6L6GC is going to require different idle bias settings which may not be possible to achieve in the Excelsior without modifications.

_________________
Bill

Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, BB King: The Ultimate Guitar Trio

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:39 am 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks for the reply - I'm pretty sure it's fixed bias.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:29 pm 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 7279
Location: Indiana
The Excelsior is Cathode biased. Heater current draw is also a consideration. One 6L6 draws approx 1 amp for the heater, and a 6V6 about .6 amp for the heater. So, if you try a pair of 6L6 in an amp designed for 6V6, you will be using approx .8 amp more current from the PT. Try them at your own risk, the PT might be able to handle the extra current, or it might not.

_________________
---> "The amp should be SWITCHED OFF AND UNPLUGGED before you do this!" <---

Por favor, disculpe mi español, no se llega a la práctica con mucha frecuencia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 1:44 pm 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 8537
Location: Centreville, Virginia
shimmilou wrote:
The Excelsior is Cathode biased. Heater current draw is also a consideration. One 6L6 draws approx 1 amp for the heater, and a 6V6 about .6 amp for the heater. So, if you try a pair of 6L6 in an amp designed for 6V6, you will be using approx .8 amp more current from the PT. Try them at your own risk, the PT might be able to handle the extra current, or it might not.


In which case the cathode resistor may require changing in order to properly bias the 6L6GCs.

_________________
Bill

Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, BB King: The Ultimate Guitar Trio

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:58 pm 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star

Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2010 2:18 pm
Posts: 4031
If you are looking for a "bigger" tone --- albeit with a more scooped out midrange than the standard 6V6GT --- may want to try the JJ 6V6S. It'll be pull-&-play in your amp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2013 12:01 am 
Offline
Rock Icon
Rock Icon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:48 am
Posts: 18283
Location: Tombstone Territory
BMW2002Ti wrote:
If you are looking for a "bigger" tone --- albeit with a more scooped out midrange than the standard 6V6GT --- may want to try the JJ 6V6S. It'll be pull-&-play in your amp.


+1

And a far safer procedure than whistling past the grave yard by subbing in a pair of 6L6's.

Arjay

_________________
"Here's why reliability is job one: A great sounding amp that breaks down goes from being a favorite piece of gear to a useless piece of crap in less time than it takes to read this sentence." -- BRUCE ZINKY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:43 pm 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:07 pm
Posts: 423
I put the JJ6v6s in mine just because I had some around. I was very happy with the result. That and adding the tone knob made it really nice sounding.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:18 pm 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 7
emailed GrooveTubes tech support and received this reply:

"Thanks for your inquiry. You should contact a qualified tech before you replace 6V6 tubes with 6L6 tubes. You could damage your power transformer. The amp may need some modifications for it to work properly. You would definitely need to get the bias set for the new tubes.

Hope this helps,
-GT"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:22 pm 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 7
And finally, forwarded the GT email to my local music store, who replied:

"Although a 6V6 and 6L6 will replace each other and work, the amp would need to be re-biased and in the case of the Excelsior it is a fixed bias and cannot be adjusted. I suppose it is something they did with that one to keep that vintage, pawnshop sort of vibe. So with some amps no problem but shouldn’t be done with this one."

The manager offered to swap back the 6l6s I had bought for a set of 6v6s - and threw in a set of strings to make up for the confusion.

So it's been another educational trip for me. I appreciate all the feedback - I should note there is a lot of valuable info on the GT website.

thanks, guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:56 pm 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:37 pm
Posts: 8537
Location: Centreville, Virginia
lvaughan wrote:
emailed GrooveTubes tech support and received this reply:

"Thanks for your inquiry. You should contact a qualified tech before you replace 6V6 tubes with 6L6 tubes. You could damage your power transformer. The amp may need some modifications for it to work properly. You would definitely need to get the bias set for the new tubes.

Hope this helps,
-GT"


lvaughan wrote:
And finally, forwarded the GT email to my local music store, who replied:

"Although a 6V6 and 6L6 will replace each other and work, the amp would need to be re-biased and in the case of the Excelsior it is a fixed bias and cannot be adjusted. I suppose it is something they did with that one to keep that vintage, pawnshop sort of vibe. So with some amps no problem but shouldn’t be done with this one."

The manager offered to swap back the 6l6s I had bought for a set of 6v6s - and threw in a set of strings to make up for the confusion.

So it's been another educational trip for me. I appreciate all the feedback - I should note there is a lot of valuable info on the GT website.

thanks, guys!


Isn't that what we all told you?

_________________
Bill

Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, BB King: The Ultimate Guitar Trio

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:17 pm 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:05 pm
Posts: 7
Yes, more or less - So fixed bias is different than cathode bias? I wasn't clear on that point.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Replacing 6v6 in Excelsior with 6l6?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 9:19 pm 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 7279
Location: Indiana
Yeah, except for the part about the Excelsior being "fixed bias and can not be adjusted", it's not fixed bias, it's Cathode biased, and you could certainly adjust it (as bluesky636 pointed out), although it would be unusual to do so.

Fixed bias means that a negative voltage is applied to the tube control grid through a series of resistors, while the Cathode of the tube is connected to ground. Fixed bias amps require a bias adjust when changing output tubes. Some fixed bias amps have an adjustment pot, and some have a resistor that would have to be changed to adjust the bias.

Cathode biased means that ground is connected to the tube control grid through a series of resistors, while the Cathode of the tube has a parallel resistor and capacitor, connected in series between the Cathode and ground. Cathode biased amps are known as plug-and-play, since typically no bias adjustment is necessary when changing output tubes. However, changing from 6V6 to 6L6, or vice-versa, is not a typical tube swap.

_________________
---> "The amp should be SWITCHED OFF AND UNPLUGGED before you do this!" <---

Por favor, disculpe mi español, no se llega a la práctica con mucha frecuencia.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group