It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 4:45 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: hot rod deluxe effects loop - HELP!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:39 am 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:20 am
Posts: 5
New to tube amps. I just got the HRDLx, running all pedals into the front of the amp. They sound good in the front of the amp till the amp channel is changed. The drive channel (sound crappy when plugged in with the effects in front.

So today I tried to use the effects loop on the amp. But to my dismay found that the volume dropped significantly and sounded crappy... To be more specific: When I plug the effects into the front of the amp, the clean channel volume is set to about 2 - 2 1/2. But when I went in through the loop the volume had to be taken to 10 or full to be heard. And what's more, the tone completely breaks down and its no longer clean. Playing it lower than 6 sound very very low and crappy.

Am I doing something wrong?

Here are the two paths:

1. Pedals in front of the amp:
Guitar>Boss PS6>T-Rex Alberta>EP booseter>MemoryBoy> Guitar in 2 on the HRDLx

2. Effects Loop

Guitar>PS6>Input 1>Pre amp out>Alberta>EP Booster>Memoryboy> Power amp in

Not only does the volume drastically drop, the stomp boxes sound a lot on click them on and off.
also the tone is complete suckage.

Is there something wrong I am doing?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hot rod deluxe effects loop - HELP!
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 6:38 am 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 7630
Location: Indiana
Hi ajitnar,

What is this? ...Input 1>Pre amp out...

Do you mean that you have Guitar>PS6>Input 1, and then separately, Preamp Out>Alberta>EP Booster>Memoryboy>Power Amp In?

The "Preamp Out" should go directly to the input of the first pedal in the loop and nowhere else. Then the output of the last pedal in the loop should go directly to the "Power Amp In" and nowhere else.

With only the guitar into the input, try each pedal in the loop, one at a time to see if any of them work better than another. Some effects are better up front, and some are better in the loop. You might also have to adjust the output of some pedals when used in the loop.

_________________
---> "The amp should be SWITCHED OFF AND UNPLUGGED before you do this!" <---

Por favor, disculpe mi español, no se llega a la práctica con mucha frecuencia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hot rod deluxe effects loop - HELP!
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:15 am 
Offline
Hobbyist
Hobbyist

Joined: Fri May 18, 2012 1:20 am
Posts: 5
@shimmilou thanks a lot that was a great tip.

Tried out each pedal one at a time in the loop. The EP booster and memory boy add a buzz/humming sound when in the effects loop. But do not add that when kept in front of the amp.

Infact, all the pedals sound better in front of the amp. The only bummer is that the drive channel and reverb (of the amp) sound crappy when run like this.

Could it be because of dirty/faulty electricity line? The delay and chorus ideally should be sounding better in the loop than in front of the amp, same goes for the EP booster. No point trying it out before getting the line checked.

thanks once again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hot rod deluxe effects loop - HELP!
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 7:04 am 
Offline
Rock Star
Rock Star
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 1:20 pm
Posts: 7630
Location: Indiana
It could be a problem with the loop itself. Have you have verified that all your cables are good, instrument cables? I would make sure that all cables are all OK, by verifying on another amp or some other way to be sure. If everything else is verified OK, it might well be the amp that needs to be looked at, and you might want to check for warranty. :idea:

_________________
---> "The amp should be SWITCHED OFF AND UNPLUGGED before you do this!" <---

Por favor, disculpe mi español, no se llega a la práctica con mucha frecuencia.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: hot rod deluxe effects loop - HELP t
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 11:59 am 
Offline
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 8:33 pm
Posts: 324
Location: Lake Panasoffkee, FL
You could have dirty contacts in the EFX jacks from not using it at all. Try cleaning it with D5 Deoxit sprayed into each jack then work a plug in and out to loosen tarnish. Repeat if needed! Let dry for a few minutes to keep fire hazard at bay!

_________________
Charlie P
Fend HSS Am DLX LSR S1 Strat 08
Fend MIM Telebot Deluxe 2011 Tronical Tuner
Fender SuperSonic 60 2010
Gibson Robot 08, Gib. Faded Ch LP 07
Gret. G5120 07, Peavey VK112 08


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group