It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 3:16 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Jazz Bass Truss Rod
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 5:26 pm 
Amateur
Amateur

I've got a 2012 AmStd. The truss rod opening is at the neck/body joint. There's a half-circle cutaway in the pickguard where you adjust the rod.

Do I have to remove the neck or just the pickguard to adjust it?

This is my first time at trying to adjust a truss rod.

Post subject: Re: Jazz Bass Truss Rod
PostPosted: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:31 pm 
Rock Icon
Rock Icon

If the pickguard has a relief notch at the neck pocket cut-out you should be able to angle a tool into the screw and effect an adjustment without the need for disassembly.

Arjay

"Here's why reliability is job one: A great sounding amp that breaks down goes from being a favorite piece of gear to a useless piece of crap in less time than it takes to read this sentence." -- BRUCE ZINKY

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 5:18 am 
Amateur
Amateur

You'll bang up your paint and wood doing that. Take it to a trusted luthier and tell him you prefer it be disassembled for adjustment.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:26 am 
Aspiring Musician
Aspiring Musician

+1 on both previous posts.

The area given to adjust the truss rod is very, very tight to sometimes impossible to access without removing the neck. If you adjust it with the neck in place, you definitely take the chance of mucking up the wood or guard. One slip and you will not be happy.

IMO, removing the neck is the sensible way to do it.

PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 8:32 am 
Professional Musician
Professional Musician

If you have a Fender "T" wrench you won't harm the finish, The T wrench is designed for the allen truss rod nut at either end of the F board. You can put a few layers of tape where you think you may harm the finish if need be. That is a bit of insurance. There ARE all kinds of different situations though,,, excuse me if I'm way off on this. Pics would help a lot though. :D